Tags

, , , ,

Getting a whiff of fermenting cocoa beansI am Don Darkes ecstatically married to my incredible wife Dianne who has put up with me for more than 33 years and who gave me three miracle* children. (*A story by itself) I dropped out of a University Psychology degree in the mid-seventies prior to serving my mandatory National Service in a secret unit stationed in (then) Rhodesia -for which I received a medal. (The subject of another novel in progress) During the eighties, at the height of apartheid, together with (then illegal)“black” partners I built a successful manufacturing company which I later sold to buy the yacht upon which I was shipwrecked together with my wife, our four year old daughter and our five year old son. After returning destitute to South Africa I rode a ripple in the dot.com wave and later sold my Internet start-up as part of a new JSE listing in order to import and distribute the rarest organic chocolate in the world and to research a challenging historical novel (which I am procrastinating about completing) that explores an intriguing link between the Jewish Holocaust and Madagascar. Currently, together with my wife, my 26 year old son and two daughters aged 24 and 17 I am living high off the ground amongst the branches of a Casuarina tree (no kidding) as the family works together building another yacht. During my (limited) spare time I am working on several books that have as a common denominator my love of history and my belief that fact is stranger and far more interesting than fiction.

If you would like to join us as we write this new adventure please follow this link to Second Time Lucky.

