Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Vultures Gather over the body

The hull exploded under the pressure of the quicksand and lighter than water components floated to the surface.

Jamais vu (from French, meaning “never seen”) is a term in psychology which is used to describe any familiar situation which is not recognized by the observer. Often described as the opposite of déjà vu, jamais vu involves a sense of eeriness and the observer’s impression of seeing the situation for the first time, despite rationally knowing that he or she has been in the situation before. (Wikipedia)

As the first rays of sunlight began to peel away the darkness at dawn on June seventh I could see  it was low tide and that the pounding waves were crashing some way off from where I sat huddled with my shivering family. A silver flash of reflected sunlight summoned me from where a shimmering object lay within the expanse of sand exposed by the receding ocean. “Wait here.” I ordered as I stood up and stepped sleepily onto the glistening beach ignoring the protests from the hardy villagers who had shared our all-night vigil. At first I did not notice how my footsteps filled up and sank then vanished behind me as I single-mindedly drew each foot from the sucking white sand and staggered doggedly forward to stand exhausted above my glinting steel objective. Puzzled and perplexed I scratched my head, wincing absent-mindedly as warm blood oozed afresh from the wound on my aching skull as I struggled to recognise at what I was looking. As I sank up to my hips in the cloying muck I recognised with dismay what the all too familiar shape sticking out of the quicksand in front of me was.

