What do Neil Armstrong, Sherlock Holmes, Mowgli, Robin Hood, Julius Caesar, Thor Heyerdahl, Joshua Slocum, Paul Theroux, James Bond, Anne Frank, Captain Ahab, Hannibal Lechter and Indiana Jones have in common?

Well done! They are all immortal. Whether they were fictional characters or real persons, alive now or dead today, they all became immortal by virtue of the fact that they have been preserved forever by being immortalised in a book.

Any book, no matter how obscure, has the ability to immortalise its characters, good and bad, small and large, good and bad, alive or dead, living or fictional. This is one of the reasons why I am writing at least two books about my wonderful family and some of the incredible people we have met. Immortality!

My first book Pisces the Sailfish is a true story , made into a book, that follows our first sailing adventure and the people we met and who we will never forget. Terry Brown the carpenter and my mentor, Charles the Chameleon, Phillipe the Scientist and of course Pisces the Sailfish the cursed yacht, my family and the man I tried to murder (cursed be his name) will all be preserved forever along with the entire cast and crew and everyone else mentioned in my book.

My second book, Second Time Lucky will do the same -but with a difference. This unique book, applying a unique concept, available only as an eBook, will allow you the reader to choose the character to follow and the Point of view of that character, as you read the book and follow the adventure through their eyes.

This book will enable you to read and experience our True-Life Family Adventure by reading it from the point of view of whichever main character you choose. Imagine being able to read Lord of The Rings from the point of view of Gollum or Gandalf. My second book, Second Time Lucky will allow you to do exactly that -only from the point of view of one of the Darkes Family members.

Second Time Lucky, is a family project and an Adventure resulting from a harsh learning experience we survived 20 years ago. This disaster enabled me to discover that the most precious thing I have is my family. Before my lesson I believed that money, possessions and the alleged status it bestowed upon one was all that mattered. I neglected my wife and children as a result. It took a number of wake-up calls to make me see the error of my ways and begin to change my course. I have recently completed this book, a humorous Family, Travel Adventure Memoir named Pisces the Sailfish describing our travels,trials and travails. This project follows on from that. ( Write to me at don@dondarkes.com if you would like a free review copy before it is officially launched.)

Second Time Lucky  is the sequel to Pisces and the Sailfish. This book is being written now, literally as it happens, with most of the same main characters, plus a new daughter, Luna Darkes and her cat Princess Mao, -only it takes place twenty years later. It records our family’s journey from another gun-at-head incident, this time involving all of us. and follows our journey following this traumatic event as we voted unanimously to live high up in the branches of a Casuarina Tree in Zululand for over a year. Then it follows our travels onward, as we encounter amazing people, animals and events and rejoice in bizarre experiences whilst we work toward building our family ark, getting it ready to sail, off the beaten track, in search of fresh adventures,.

Whilst this may look like a run-of-the-mill memoir and another boring sailing journal that is where the resemblance ends. I hate sailing and am regarded as a heretic for saying “ Sailing is the price I am prepared to pay for the time I spend anchored safely in an exotic port.” So we may not talk or write too much about the boring part of sailing, the tides and wind and ropes, but rather the aspects that mean something to everyone, the people that we meet, the places that we visit, the food we eat, the drinks that refresh or revive us, the smells we encounter and the adventures we revel in.

But that is not all, based on an idea perhaps “borrowed” from the gaming community, I shall allow and enable the reader, to follow our adventures, seen from the point of view of whichever of the characters they wish. For example, a man may wish to read the book and experience our actual adventure from my (Don’s) point of view. Similarly a younger person may choose to see the world we journey through as experienced by my son Bill, my wife Dianne or one of my daughters Luna or Morgan. I may (time and energy permitting) have the adventure possible to be read or seen from the point of view of Princess Mao-Ling Darkes- our Fluffy Burman cat. The book will enable you to live the adventure with whichever one of us you prefer. Of course, my fond hope is that you will read the book the first time from my (Don Darke’s ) point of view and perhaps relive it again from my wife Dianne or one of our children’s point of view when you give it as a gift to a loved one.

In addition to this some of the people we meet along the way will of course become immortal. Leon the Leonator, Rowena our mentor, Gus the curser and Dirty Dylan will all live forever. In fact, should you choose to cross our path, you too may have a chance at immortality.

Find out more, watch a video,  and discover how you can also live forever by clicking here.

Welcome aboard!

Bill, Don ( that’s me) Luna, Dianne and Morgan at the back.

 

